---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: Kath Gibson <glas.
...@mac.com>
Date: Thu, Jul 10, 2008 at 1:14 AM
Subject: [MUG Leaders] Dot Mac account Phishing warning
To: "GlasMUG .mac group" <glas.
...@groups.mac.com>, MUG Leaders Ireland <
lead
...@macusersuk.org>
Hi folks
Just a warning that there is a rather convincing looking phishing email
doing the rounds, which I've received this evening to my 'public' GlasMUG
address. The email contains a picture of the .mac 'world' logo and is very
much in Apple's style. I was so convinced it might be genuine that I went
off to check my apple store account (by opening a browser and navigating
there myself, not by clicking any links, of course) to check my details,
since I had recently changed my bank.
When all seemed to be ok with my account, I went back to the email and
hovered over the clickable 'by clicking here' link and the alt text came up
showing that it was actually NOT going direct to the Apple website. The
website came up as (and PLEASE don't click this link - it's here for your
information only to help you identify the fake email)
http://www.moosej.com/https/.www.apple.com/us .
I've since navigated to the moosej website (just a basic page of someone
practising web coding) and the full URL, which comes up with a 404 not found
message, but perhaps it's been pulled down, or is maybe just harvesting
'live' emails for spam by tracking the click-throughs. In any event, I
would recommend that you DON'T click the link.
I've copied in a screen grab here so you can see how convincing looking the
email actually was (although closer inspection of the style of the language
might also give a more alert reader a clue that it's not real).
Anyway, that's it. If you have other .mac using friends, please let them
know. I'm concerned that because of the timing of this (i.e. the
switch-over to Mobile Me) people will think it's real and could be
preventing their transition to the new system, and will click the link.
I couldn't find an email address at apple to report this (such as abuse@) so
if anyone knows of an address to send it to, please let me know so I can
forward it on with full headers for tracking.
Cheers
Kath
_______________________________________________
Leaders mailing list
Lead...@macusersuk.org
http://macusersuk.org/mailman/listinfo/leaders_macusersuk.org